1.2 -- ORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Board of Directors shall consist of seven (7) members elected by majority vote for a five (5) year term.

Officers are elected annually in the first regular meeting after the annual school election.

Officers elected annually by the Board from its membership are: President, Vice-President, and Secretary.

The Superintendent of Van Buren School District Number 42 shall serve as Ex-Officio Financial Secretary and the Business manager shall serve as District Treasurer.

Special temporary committees may be appointed by the President or chosen by a vote of the Board, but no standing committees except a committee of the whole shall be authorized.

In a year in which all members are required to run as a result of rezoning, elected members will draw for two (2) terms of five (5) years, two (2) terms of four (4) years, two (2) terms of three (3) years, and one (1) term of two (2) years.

Ref: A.C.A. 6-13-618, 6-13-619, 6-13-610, Act 1078, 1999

Approved by Board of Education 09/08/87 Amended by Board of Education 08/15/00 Amended by Board of Education 07/12/05 Amended by Board of Education 07/12/05 Amended by Board of Education 06/12/12