"Every Child - Whatever It Takes!"
Van Buren School District
Home Schools Administration Staff Programs Parents Contact Us
En Español

PARENT RESOURCES

General Information

Center for Creative Learning www.creativelearning.com

Center for Gifted Education, College of William and Mary http://cfge.wm.edu

Center for Talent Development, Northwestern Univ. www.ctd.northwestern.edu

David C. Baird’s Gifted Children www3.sympatico.ca/daba/gifted/index.html

Davidson Institute for Talent Development www.ditd.org

Duke Talent Identification Program and Motivation for Academic Performance www.tip.duke.edu

Gifted Development Center www.gifteddevelopment.com

Gifted Education Resource Institute, Purdue www.geri.soe.purdue.edu

GT World www.gtworld.org

HOTS Higher Order Thinking Skills www.hots.org

Hollingworth Center for Highly Gifted Children www.hollingworth.org

Hoagies; Gifted Education Page www.hoagiesgifted.org

Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth http://cty.jhu.edu/imagine/links.html

National Association for Gifted Children Parenting for High Potential www.nagc.org

National Foundation for Gifted and Creative Children www.nfgcc.org

National Research Center on the Gifted and Talented www.gifted.uconn.edu/nrcgt.html

SENG Supporting Emotional Needs of the Gifted www.sengifted.org

Publications

Arlie Books www.arliebooks.com

Free Spirit Publishing www.freespirit.com

Gifted Children Monthly www.gifted-children.com

Gifted Education Press www.giftededpress.com

Great Potential Press http://greatpotentialpress.com

Math Channel Wonderful Ideas www.mathchannel.com

ational Geographic Kids www.nationalgeographic.com

National Wildlife Federation www.nwf.org/kids

Open Space Communication www.openspacecomm.com

Patrick’s Press ( academic quizzes) www.patrickspress.com

Pieces of Learning www.piecesoflearning.com

Prufrock Press Gifted Child Today www.prufrock.com

Zephyr Press www.zephyrpress.com

Curriculum Support, Activities, and Competitions

ACT American College Testing www.act.org

Amazing Kids www.amazing-kids.org

American Computer Science League www.acsl.org

American Mathematics Competitions http://www.unl.edu/amc

American Memory Project http://memory.loc.gov

American Museum of Natural History www.ology.amnh.org

Annenberg Learner (variety) www.learner.org/teacherslab/math/patterns/index.html

AP Advanced Placement http://apcentral.collegeboard.com

Apex Learning www.apexlearning.com

A Plus Math www.aplusmath.com

Arcytech (math and science) www.arcytech.org/java

Artifact Box www.artifactbox.com

Arts Edge www.artsedge.kennedy-center.org

Ask an Expert www.askanexpert.com

Best of History Web Sites www.besthistorysites.net

BEST Robotics www.bestinc.org

Biography Maker www.bham.wednet.edu/bio/biomaker.htm

Bob Wilcox’s Mathematics page http://geocities.com/Athens/3352

BrainBashers www.brainbashers.com

CAAS Chess Association for Arkansas Schools www.chess-for-arkansas-schools.org

Cognetics National Talent Network www.eirc.org/content/national_talent_net/cognetics.htm

Cool Math http://coolmath4kids.com/index.html

Cornell Theory Center Math and Science www.tc.cornell.edu/Edu/MathSciGateway

Count On www.counton.org

Create a Graph http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/Graphing

Cyberchase Games http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/games.html

Design Your Future—Math, Science, Technology for Girls www.autodesk.com/dyf/dyfmain2.html

Destination Imagination http://destinationimagination.org

Digital History www.digitalhistory.uh.edu

DigiTales www.digitales.us

Do History www.dohistory.org/home.html

Do Something www.dosomething.org

E-coach (literacy) www.my-ecoach.com/resources/litconnect.html

EconEd www.econedlink.org

EDSITEment (humanities and social studies) http://edsitement.neh.fed.us

Eduscapes (variety of topics) http://eduscapes.com

Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Math and Science http://www.goenc.com

Electronic Emissary (locating mentors) http://emissary.wm.edu

E-pals www.epals.com

Eric Weisstein’s World of Mathematics http://mathworld.wolfram.com

Expect the Best from a Girl www.academic.org

Exploratorium Science Museum http://www.exploratorium.edu

Explore Learning www.explorelearning.com

Eyewitness to History www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/index.html

Figure This! www.figurethis.org/index.html

Future Problem Solving http://fpsp.org

GEMS-Great Explorations in Math and Science http://www.lhs.berkeley.edu/gems

Geography Bee www.nationalgeographic.cojm/geobee

Glencoe Math Links www.glencoe.com/sec/math/cool/index.htm

Grey Labyrinth www.greylabyrinth.com/index.htm

High School Mock Trial www.collegemocktrial.org/highschool.htm

History Matters http://historymatters.gmu.edu

Intel Science Talent Search www.sciserv.org/sts

International Baccalaureate Organization www.ibo.org

International Math Olympics www.youth.net/math.oly/mo.html

Invent America www.inventamerica.com

JASON Project www.jasonproject.org

Junior Great Books www.greatbooks.org

Kid Publishing http://kidpub.com/kidpub

Kid Psych(ages 1-9 years) www.kidpsych.org/index1.html

Kids Click! (variety) http://sunsite3.berkeley.edu/KidsClick!

Krypto game online http://www.mphgames.com

LeadershipVillage www.leadershipvillage.com

Lego League www.firstlegoleague.org

Linda Sheffield’s Math Resources for Students http://www.nku.edu/%7Emathed/p12sr.html

Magic Tricks http://www.kidszone.ws/magic/index.htm

Mysteries http://kids.mysterynet.com

Marco Polo (variety of topics) www.marcopolo-education.org

Math Archives http://archives.math.utk.edu/index.html

MATHCOUNTS http://mathcounts.org

Math-kitecture www.math-kitecture.com

Mathematics Pentathlon www.mathpentath.org

Math Forum@Drexel http://mathforum.org

Math League www.mathleague.com

Math Olympiads http://www.moems.org

Microsociety www.microsociety.org

Mindware games www.mindwareonline.com

Mr. Pitonyak’s Pyramid Puzzle http://wcvt.com~tiggr

Model UN www.nmun.org

National Archives Digital Classroom www.archives.gov/digital_classroom/index

National Geographic Expeditions www.nationalgeographic.com/xpeditions

National History Day www.nationalhistoryday.org

National Math Trail www.nationalmathtrail.org

National Science Resources Center www.nsrconline.org

National Youth Science Camp www.nysc.org

Natural Math www.naturalmath.com

NCTE Promising Young Writers Program www.ncte.org/about/awards/student/pyw

News Bowl www.newsbowl.cm

Odyssey of the Mind www.odysseyofthemind.org

Origin of Words and Names www.krysstal.com/wordname.html

Primary Source Documents www.kn.pacbell.com/fil/pages/listdocumentpa.html

Project Learning Tree www.plt.org

Reader’s Theater www.aaronshep.com

Reference Desk www.refdesk.com

SAT Scholastic Aptitude Test www.collegeboard.org

Science and Math Network www.sciencemathnetwork.org/index.html

Science Bowl www.scied.science.doe.gov/nsb/default.htm

Science Hobbyist www.eskimo.com/~billb

Science Net www.sciencenetlinks.com

Science Olympiad www.soinc.org

Smithsonian Institute Exhibits www.sil.si.edu/SILPublications/Online-Exhibitions

Social Studies Sources www.indiana.edu/~socialst

Stock Market Game www.smgww.org

Survey Monkey (create your own survey) www.surveymonkey.com

ThinkQuests www.thinkquest.org

Time Magazine for Kids www.timeforkids.com/TFK/index.html

Ultimate Puzzle www.dse.nl/puzzle/index_us.html

United States Academic Decathlon www.usad.org

University of Arkansas GT Scholars http://gtscholars.uark.edu

USAToday Snapshots (little known facts) www.usatoday.com/news/snapshot.htm

US History www.academicinfo.net/hisusteach.html

Veteran’s History Project www.loc.gov/folklife/vets/vets-home.html

Virtual Architecture http://virtual-architecture.wm.edu

Virtual Book Club http://eduscapes.com/tap/topic112.htm

Virtual Manipulatives (math) http://nlvm.usu.edu/nav/vlibrary.html

Visual Thesaurus www.visualthesaurus.com/index.jsp

We the People www.civiced.org/programs.php

Webquests (variety) www.webquest.org

Word Central www.wordcentral.com

Word Masters Challenge www.wordmasterschallenge.com

Written and Illustrated By www.landmarkeditions.com/Scripts/index.asp

Young Astronauts Club www.youngastronauts.org/yac

Contact Information:

Van Buren School District
Suzanne McPherson
Director of Special Programs
Van Buren School District
913 N. 24th
Van Buren, AR 72956
479-471-4000

General Information
Successes and Evalutation Results

Parent-Teacher Resources

Recommended Reading For Students
Additional Learning Opportunities
NCA Van Buren School District
2221 Pointer Trail East
Van Buren, AR 72956
479-474-7942

Stats|Sitemap|Feedback|State Required Information