Van Buren School Board wins ASBA Excellence in Leadership Award

Friday, December 13, 2019 11:29 pm
Van Buren School Board wins ASBA Excellence in Leadership Award

Members of the Van Buren School Board received a big surprise on Friday at the Arkansas School Boards Association (ASBA) Annual Conference in Little Rock. The group was presented the 2019 ASBA School Board of Excellence in Leadership Award for its outstanding commitment to its district and community.

Presented each year, the prestigious honor recognizes school boards whose dedication and ethical service have made a positive impact on the students in their district. Districts are chosen based on criteria such as its board’s support for educational performance and improvement projects, provision of financial support for the school system, participation in performance improvement programs, public relations, and community awareness.

“This is a tremendous honor and a much-deserved recognition for our Board of Education,” said VBSD Superintendent Dr. Harold Jeffcoat.

In its nomination, VBSD cited major accomplishments of the Board and its members’ impact on the school system and community. The District lauded the board for its progressive approach to expanding technology, increasing school safety, improving staff retention, and implementing workforce readiness programs.

“Under our Board’s careful guidance, VBSD has moved forward with new campus construction, launched the River Valley Virtual Academy, expanded our School Resource Officer program, and significantly increased teacher pay, among other notable achievements,” shared Jeffcoat. “The members have worked cooperatively with our administration to develop a strategic plan and set long-term goals for our District. Each step of the way, they have partnered with our staff to help communicate with our key stakeholders about improvements being made, as well as challenges faced. In doing so, they have helped foster community support for projects and earned VBSD a reputation for excellence in our region.”

Van Buren School Board of Education members include President Candice Settle-Beshears, Vice President Lance Lanier, Secretary Kevin Bell, Theresa Bell; Bob Freeman, Christy Mayo, and Carman Young.

“The seven individuals that comprise our Board exhibit great professionalism and passion in their service to the District,” noted Jeffcoat. “They are outstanding leaders and are an incredible asset to both our District and community. We are grateful for them and most proud to have them honored at the state level.”